Facebook Gestapo: “Papers, Please.”

So, I’m off Facebook. The addiction cut quick.

Facebook Sucks Bird Flip Off - DMusedWhy on earth would you do that?

Well, it wasn’t my choice. I needed a nudge in the right direction. But, I digress.

Facebook in its new corporate IPO crusade to the bottom in a puddle of their own greed-inspired drool has taken issue with peoples’ nomenclature.

Their names.

Back when us ad-bate demographic muppets signed up to use their site, we weren’t required to show papers. That’s why there were people wearing Christopher Walken’s name and a cowbell pic for fun.  We all understand that Walken’s brand need be protected, but when Facebook has a problem with Caitlyn Jenner not being “Ol’ Bruce,” then they’re pushing privacy boundaries that aren’t theirs to breach.

This isn’t a false analogy.  Transgendered people have a very difficult time of things without being harrassed by Facebook to wear their man-pants to the ball.  They even banned a prominent employee from their site for not using her birth name.

www.thinkprogress.org/lgbt/facebook-transgender-real-name-policy

But, they’re not only making life difficult for the LGBT community.  Anyone desiring the security of a degree of anonymity in a hyper-partisan age of bullying in a country made up of unabashed racists with unregistered guns and disgusting vindictive attitudes.  One guy had to change his fun pen name “Merry Christmas” to “Mary Zuckerberg” to get his profile back.

www.dailydot.com/technology/zuckerberg-recants-facebook-name-policy

The lesson we are being re-educated to hold self-evident is that we must confirm to the new Corporate Facebook’s NSA bent at control of our lives down to our nicknames and what hand we choose to wipe with.

I have a slight disagreement with this concept, so, I go.

It’s important to understand that there are a whole host of reasons why people don’t want to use their birthname in a place as public as a post-Myspace Myspace. It’s not all about gender identity.  Far from it.

Half of my friends exist in the public sphere. Many of them dodge paparazzi and know detectives on a first name basis beating back stalkers. That’s just musicians, actors, directors, producers, and the most protective of their privacy, the writers.

Now, others on my page are people who work in politics in one way or another, and if you have turned your TV on even once in the past couple years, you  know how vulnerable people kn this field are to a Rovian  echo-chamber quasi-journalism brigade of rabid vultures. You won’t see Senator Frank’s private page with his super-secret “incog” profile name. I did, but no more.

What may be the sickest thing about having a Gestapo NSA Facebook team of dolts stealing my page from me is that  now, I don’t have alternate contact info for 90 or so actual business contacts; a couple hundred actual friends; and even family. You get to depend on Facebook like Ma Bell. It’s gonna be there.

Well, that ain’t the case. You have no rights. I was a stubborn ignoramus. I didn’t make sure I asked everyone for their email addresses. Their phones. Now, I’m locked out because I won’t submit to Facebook’s demand to watch me poop, metaphorically.

Why so secretive?

I’ve always been critical of Facebook’s internal security. Because I’m not a freshman noob moron. If you can maneuver around the angry and aggressive tweener brigades of wannabe bullies fouling the place up with profane, juvenile monkey-crap flinging best-of-no-show contests, you still have to deal with the reality that your personal and private information isn’t secure. It’s not as common as it used to be that a company entrusted with client information would sell it on that market. I know. In four different, but somewhat entwined industries, I spent solid dollar on these lists. Harder to score that way with eyes on it, legally speaking.

Facebook Thumb dislike - DMused

Worse, now, as you’ve seen with the Sony and now the US federal database hacks. For cryin’ out loud, everyone enduring the process of undergoing clearance background checks since 2000 have just had all of their credit and contact information stolen in a hack that is bigger anything before or after, but too big to really acknowledge without just passing out from shock.

We’re talking psych backgrounds of intelligence officers.

And, you think we should trust Facebook with even our name? Let alone our financial information.  This is not your pal Mark Zuckerberg’s social site.  Facebook grew horns and smells like Nazi sulfur.

Papers Facebook Privacy Rape NaziDo yourself a favor and get everyone’s real contact information.

SAVE ALL THE DATA ON YOUR PROFILE. I used mine as a journal. A personal journal. My captions. My comments. My “notes.” All of it, gone, because Facebook DEMANDED to know everything about me.

There are alternatives. Here, of course. Use your email again. Your phones. Twitter (our profile here at Magnana Mouse). Anything but Facebook — the last social media company to grant your trust to.

About dmusedamerica

I have done a metric ass-ton of things through my personal and professional trek across my nows and thens. I've worked in politics in more than a couple handfuls of US Senate and Congressional districts across the country. I'm a domestic wonk out the box. Through my work in the electoral mafia, I've lived many a parallel career. I tendered outright in 2006, but that's a story inside a story within a tale for none other time or other. For a lot of my years trench-side, I was fortunate to be able to work parallel in a managerial capacity for creatives. Now, I am able to have come out the closet, so to speak. I'm able to be managed instead of owning the wheel. For the first time in my life, I am blessed to let others manage my trip steps and bounds through the briar patch of publishing. Now, Steven D'Mused can harvest his own creative bounty. It's a good day. I journal here at Magnana Mouse to help my old friend John; to share my experience in and knowledge of the dark web of US political electioneering. This is a place for my activist self to write at a podium near the metaphorical ballot box. Hope I am able to add a valuable voice to Magnana Mouse. Thanks for reading and thanks for CARING to read into the truth. Let reality reign and joy flow. Get out the vote, no matter how you do it. Just do it. Fight for your right to party, my brothas and sistas. No rules in street fighting. Blood and balls. There is only winning and dying anymore. WIN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook Gestapo: “Papers, Please.”

Whatcha thinkin'?

