Did President Obama Really Let Shell Oil Flush the Arctic?

I love my president, Barack Obama. But, I love truth, reality, and justice much more.

Obama has done a TON of good amidst unprecedented obstruction. All dripping with Republican race-hate and otherwise evil regressive right wing anti-American urine trickled down on him from the penthouse suite.

But, what is this I hear? The President is in Alaska touting an environmental call-to-arms just after allowing Shell Oil to head to the Arctic to Katrina up one of the last pristine habitats left on the planet?

Arctric Oil PlatformOh, but he did, and I for one want to know why he would do such a thing. And, I want to know how any Liberal — any progressive-minded human could give him some kind of pass on it. How could anyone not employed by Shell Oil be down with it?

But, this is from Democracy Now. Hands down the most liberal News program out there. Maybe they’re just going hyper-progressive in attack-the-Demcrat-for-not-being-Democrat-enough. Right? How’s about a reality vaccination:

CNN
“The Obama administration, citing “rigorous safety standards” and a long review process, has granted conditional approval to energy giant Shell to begin oil drilling in the Arctic waters off the coast of Alaska.”

The Guardian.
“U.S. President Barack Obama has removed one of the last obstacles to oil drilling in Arctic waters, granting Shell permission to bore two new exploratory wells.”

The Washington Post.
“The Obama administration gave Shell the go-ahead Wednesday to drill two oil exploration wells in the Chukchi Sea about 70 miles off Alaska’s Arctic coast.”

Think Progress.
The Obama administration is now allowing the oil company to drill even deeper. The Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE) approved Shell’s application to modify one if its exploratory drilling permits on Alaska’s northwest shoreline, meaning that Shell can “burrow into potential oil-bearing reservoirs thousands of feet below the seafloor that previously had been off limits.”

It is true. The Oil Industry boon that Greenpeace had people hanging off of bridges and risking being crushed in kayaks to prevent was allowed to happen because President Barack Obama chose to allow it to happen.

Why, exactly?

Well, Obama counters the allowance to the Dutch company with a ban on drilling on 1.4 million acres of Alaskan shoreline and by saying that the Arctic drilling is in waters much less deep than in the already-destroyed Gulf of Mexico (Reuters).

So, Dutch Shell Oil should be trusted with this pristine habitat like British Petrolium (BP) was trusted to do in the Gulf of Mexico.

Brilliant planning. The earth is well on its way to Hell in a handbasket we wove, so why the hell not, right?

So, the President flew to Alaska today to give a speech about how committed he is to saving the planet through his dedication to renewable energy. Has everyone gotten it all wrong, or is this one of the biggest hypocritical attempts at saving face in his entire presidency?

About dmusedamerica

I have done a metric ass-ton of things through my personal and professional trek across my nows and thens. I've worked in politics in more than a couple handfuls of US Senate and Congressional districts across the country. I'm a domestic wonk out the box. Through my work in the electoral mafia, I've lived many a parallel career. I tendered outright in 2006, but that's a story inside a story within a tale for none other time or other. For a lot of my years trench-side, I was fortunate to be able to work parallel in a managerial capacity for creatives. Now, I am able to have come out the closet, so to speak. I'm able to be managed instead of owning the wheel. For the first time in my life, I am blessed to let others manage my trip steps and bounds through the briar patch of publishing. Now, Steven D'Mused can harvest his own creative bounty. It's a good day. I journal here at Magnana Mouse to help my old friend John; to share my experience in and knowledge of the dark web of US political electioneering. This is a place for my activist self to write at a podium near the metaphorical ballot box. Hope I am able to add a valuable voice to Magnana Mouse. Thanks for reading and thanks for CARING to read into the truth. Let reality reign and joy flow. Get out the vote, no matter how you do it. Just do it. Fight for your right to party, my brothas and sistas. No rules in street fighting. Blood and balls. There is only winning and dying anymore. WIN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did President Obama Really Let Shell Oil Flush the Arctic?

  1. I, for one, detest this article. I mean, it’s well-written and everything, but political savvy and all that aside, I’d rather not nail the man just because I own a hammer. In the entire history of “him”, I have seen a person true to character. A boy, then teenager, then man who was always thoughtful, and erred on the side of others, going the middle way. So nail away, but I don’t have to like it.

    • I don’t like it either. I don’t like that Shell was allowed by the administration allowed Shell into the Arctic to drill. I’m not a big fan of giving anyone I like a free pass on anything just because I like them. I like our President. I’m not impressed by this call, and there’s no free pass for it. Especially to President Obama, who champions renewable energy.

      What facts allow you to justify this to yourself?

Whatcha thinkin'?

